DESIGN & FASHION

Design traditionally plays an important role in Frankfurt. The era of the New Frankfurt is style-defining, for example with the typography Futura created by Paul Renner, Ernst May as remarkable city planner and Ferdinand Kramer, as well as the Frankfurt Kitchen, the original model of today’s fitted kitchen by Grete Schütte-Lihotzky. Today, the Kia Design Center Europe and Frankfurt designers such as Farah Ebrahimi, Philipp Mainzer and Olaf Barski stand for modern design, high-quality materials and innovative manufacturing methods.

In addition to the German Design Council with its Institute for Design Research and Appliance (IfDRA), the German Designer Club (DDC), Deutscher Werkbund Hessen and the Museum Angewandte Kunst are not merely established in Frankfurt, but are national and international hallmarks for design.

The German Design Award, an international premium design prize, is presented at Ambiente, the world’s leading trade fair for consumer goods. The DDC Award Gute Gestaltung and the Hessian State Award for Universal Design distinguish excellence and sustainable design. The Höchster Designparcours is a regional design show for new talents.

The Frankfurt based international design magazine form and the international platforms ndion and Stylepark report on the latest developments in design.

A distinct fashion and lifestyle community characterizes the cityscape of Frankfurt. Young and established designers meet modernity and tradition. Frankfurt is always the place where new ideas are negotiated. TextilWirtschaft, published by Deutscher Fachverlag, is a German-language trade magazine providing relevant news and background information from the fashion and textile industry.

Starting in summer 2021, the Frankfurt Fashion Week, the highlight of the German fashion industry, will take place in Frankfurt. During this time, Frankfurt will be the international trading center for trade fairs such as PREMIUM, SEEK and NEONYT, as well as future-oriented formats such as FASHIONSUSTAIN.

Stilblüten Festival is a show of the regional fashion & design scene with connections to other German and international cities. And the FRANKfurtstyleaward as an international competition for young designers in fashion & design stands for a talent and career platform for young designers from fashion schools around the globe, which promotes innovative ideas, creativity and outstanding creative performance.

Get a deeper insight into the Frankfurt fashion scene by:

An internationally renowned design education is offered by the Academy of Visual Arts Frankfurt, European School of Design, HfG Offenbach, Hochschule RheinMain and Hochschule Darmstadt.

The Frankfurt School for Clothing and Fashion has a tradition of more than 100 years of training in making fashion. Global Brand & Fashion Management can be studied at the International School of Management (ISM).

For current job postings in the field of design, it is worth taking a look at the job exchange Design Made in Germany, PAGE job market and das auge job market.

The resident institutions, associations and federations of the design and fashion industry offer a wide range of opportunities for professional qualification, professional exchange and networking.

DESIGN & FASHION

In Frankfurt spielt Design traditionell eine wichtige Rolle. Stilprägend ist die Ära des Neuen Frankfurt u.a. mit der von Paul Renner geschaffenen Typografie Futura, Ernst May als Baudezernent und die von ihm und Ferdinand Kramer konzipierten Siedlungen ebenso wie die Frankfurter Küche, das Urmodell der heutigen Einbauküche von Grete Schütte-Lihotzky. Heute stehen das Kia Design Center Europe ebenso wie Frankfurter GestalterInnen wie Farah Ebrahimi, Philipp Mainzer oder Olaf Barski für moderne Gestaltung, qualitativ hochwertige Materialien und innovative Herstellungsmethoden.

Neben dem Rat der Formgebung mit seinem Institute for Design Research and Appliance (IfDRA) sind der Deutsche Designer Club (DDC), Deutscher Werkbund Hessen und das Museum Angewandte Kunst nicht nur fest in Frankfurt verankert, sondern nationale und internationale Aushängeschilder für Gestaltung.

Auf der weltweit führenden Messe für Konsumgüter, der Ambiente, wird der German Design Award, ein internationaler Design-Premiumpreis vergeben. Der DDC Award Gute Gestaltung und der Hessische Staatspreis Universelles Design zeichnen Exzellenz und nachhaltige Gestaltung aus. Der Höchster Designparcours versteht sich als regionale Designschau.

Über die neusten Entwicklungen berichtet aus Frankfurt heraus das internationale Designmagazin form und die internationalen Plattformen ndion und Stylepark.

Eine ausgeprägte Mode- und Lifestyle-Community prägt das Stadtbild von Frankfurt. Junge und etablierte Designer treffen auf Moderne und Tradition. Frankfurt ist dabei stets der Verhandlungsort neuer Ideen. Die TextilWirtschaft, herausgegeben vom Deutschen Fachverlag, liefert als deuschsprachiges Fachmagazin relevante News und Hintergründe aus der Mode- und Textilbranche, zu Marken, Machern und Strategien in Fashion.

Ab Sommer 2021 findet die Frankfurt Fashion Week als Highlight der deutschen Fashion Industrie in Frankfurt statt. Frankfurt ist in dieser Zeit der internationale Handelsplatz für Messen wie der PREMIUM, SEEK und NEONYT, sowie zukunfstorientierter Formate wie FASHIONSUSTAIN.

Das Stilblüten Festival ist eine Schau der regionalen Fashion- & Designszene mit Verbindung in andere deutsche sowie internationale Großstädte.

Der FRANKfurtstyleaward als internationaler Nachwuchswettbewerb in Fashion & Design steht für eine nachhaltige Talent- und Karriereplattform für junge DesignerInnen aus Modeschulen der ganzen Wet, die innovative Ideen, Kreativität und herausragende schöpferische Leistung fördert.

Einen tieferen Einblick in die Frankfurter Fashion Szene bieten:

Eine international renommierte Designausbildung bieten die Academy of Visual Arts Frankfurt, European School of Design, HfG Offenbach, Hochschule RheinMain und Hochschule Darmstadt.

Eine über 100-jährige Tradition hat die Ausbildung im Modehandwerk in der Frankfurter Schule für Bekleidung und Mode. Global Brand & Fashion Management kann an der International School of Management (ISM) studiert werden.

Für aktuelle Stellenausschreibungen im Bereich Design, lohnt sich ein Blick in die Jobbörse Design Made in Germany, PAGE Stellenmarkt und Stellenmarkt das auge.

Die ansässigen Institutionen, Verbände und Vereine der Design- und Fashionbranche bieten mit ihren unterschiedlichen Angeboten vielfältige Möglichkeiten der fachlichen Qualifizierung, des Fachaustausches und der Vernetzung.